MARTIN WOLF

“Visual thinking more closely approaches unconscious processes than does verbal thinking, since it predates it.” (Sigmund Freud)

Martin Wolf in his studio. Photo: H-J Schröder

Martin Wolf, born in 1964, graduated from the Free University of Berlin with a degree in media studies and psychology and a doctorate in sociology. He studied art history and painting at the College of Education in Heidelberg.
In the 1980s, he developed his inclination towards realism as a painting style while a guest student in drawing courses at the Hochschule der Künste art school in Berlin. Renowned representatives of American, Dutch, French and German realism were contributing influences on his viewpoint. By means of specific painting techniques Martin Wolf manages to imbue his paintings with his own special touch. He calls his painting style “atmospheric realism”.

He has worked as a lecturer at several universities of applied sciences in Mannheim and Heidelberg and as an analyst at a bank. Since 2011, Martin Wolf has been active as a painter. In the age of globalisation, he looks for his subjects in his home country as well as in other European and non-European countries.

Urban landscapes / city portraits

The thematic field “urban landscapes” depicts excerpts from the “city” construct. The “Industrial Architecture in Mannheim” appears in the 2015 watercolour painting as a framework structure comprising verticals and horizontals.

Industriearchitektur in Mannheim, 2015. Watercolor on paper, 65 x 50 cm. Photo: M. Wolf.

The viewer sees the façade of an industrial building covered with pipes and metal scaffolding. Dazzling light creates sharply defined shadows on the concrete square. Everything is clearly defined and conveys a certain order in the sense of control.
The city is a man-made living space, which in this instance appears to be far from natural. Industry guarantees the progress of man, who is a flawed being and who compensates for his inherent shortcomings in this way.

Further works of the thematic complex “Urban Landscapes” such as “The Suspension Bridge in Ludwigshafen” (2014),”Mannheim Skyline” (2012),”Marseilles” (2017),”Neckarauer Straße in Mannheim” (2014), NYC Manhattan – Garbage truck at night “(2012) and” Paris Boulogne, Passer-by “(2012) also deal with man’s artificially created habitat. The city is always a construct of lines and surfaces, a place of technology and industry, and an environment far removed from nature, in which people often seem to be lonely.
Martin Wolf’s meticulous representation and the staged light underline this artificiality within these works. The empty loneliness that is typical of the anonymity prevailing in modern cities is conveyed.

The thematic field of “city portraits” also ties in with this isolation within large cities.  “Young man in Paris Metro”(2012),” Young couple in Paris Metro “(2012),” Paris Boulogne – House Façades “(2013),” University café Mannheim “(2012) and” University library Mannheim “(2012) are also concerned with the loneliness that can be experienced within a community.

Culture and Technology

The watercolours “Musée du Louvre – La Gioconda” from 2014 and “Greece – Delphi” from 2017 take up the theme of “culture and technology” and describe the discrepancy that can arise from this.

Museé du Louvre, La Goconda, 2014. Watercolor on paper, 50 x 65 cm. Photo: M. Wolf.

Leonardo da Vinci’s “Mona Lisa” smiles unwaveringly from her ancestral place in the Louvre museum, while a crowd of visitors scrambles in front of the famous painting. Everybody is taking pictures with cell phones and tablets. The ambiguity of the picture as an image and a portrait is brought to the fore. 
What is in the foreground here? The portrait of Francesco del Giocondo’s wife, or the image of the world-famous painting?

The concept of culture is also questioned. It is the man-made world facing nature. How do we deal with culture? For example, how do we view art? Here technology takes the place of natural perception and reduces our perceptive forms to absurdity. The crowd is antithetically facing the unique “Gioconda”. The distinctiveness of the portrait illustrates the human endeavour to portray, depict and preserve oneself for posterity.
Martin Wolf holds a critical view of everyday situations.  He questions them and pares them out into many layers, so that the viewer cannot avoid questioning his surroundings and himself.

Griechenland, Delphi, 2017. Watercolor on paper, 50 x 65 cm. Photo: M. Wolf.

Nature and technology

Another work from the subject area “nature and technology” is the representation of the autumnal Palatinate forest, from 2015. The viewer is positively sucked into the sparse forest via a winding path. To the left and right of the path there is a tangled web of branches and tree trunks. The viewer is confronted with an invisible border: At the traffic sign “No entry for motorcycles and cars” he enters the natural space as a being without motorised resources, left to his own devices. The sign threatens to tip over and sink into its surroundings.

Herbstwald in der Pfalz, 2015. Watercolor on paper, 50 x 65 cm. Photo: M. Wolf

Detailed and meticulously accurate, but not photographically literal, reality seems to be depicted here in a lifelike way.  The reality of the picture is felt and thoughtfully worked out before Martin Wolf captures it on handmade paper. It is thus not to be equated with actual reality. The atmosphere plays an important role and thus the composition is supported not least by the lighting. This is reflected in a selective choice of colours, which consists of restrained tones. The colour palette uses a precept that is especially compiled for the respective mood.

Other works in the thematic complex “nature and technology” are “Car dump in the South of France” (2014),”Lorry on Porquerolles” (2014),”Swimming over the Rhein in Mannheim” (2015),”The South of France – Networks I” (2015) and “The South of France – Networks II” (2015).

Text: Anastasia Schmidt M. A.

LKW auf Porquerolles, 2014. Watercolor on paper, 50 x 65 cm. Photo: M. Wolf.
Autoschrott in Südfrankreich, 2014. Watercolor on paper, 50 x 65 cm. Photo: M. Wolf.

Exhibitions

2019
Solo exhibition, Eva-Wolf-Schliesser Gallery, Mannheim

2017/2018
Solo exhibition, Dr. Ebensberger’s practice, Heidelberg

2017
Solo exhibition, Eva-Wolf-Schliesser Gallery, Mannheim

2014
Solo exhibition, Schillerstrasse Gallery, Heidelberg

2013
Solo exhibition, Schillerstrasse Gallery, Heidelberg

MARTIN WOLF

Martin Wolf in seinem Atelier. Foto: H-J Schröder

„Das visuelle Denken nähert sich dem unbewußten Vorgang mehr als das verbale Denken, es ist älter als dieses.“ (Sigmund Freud)

Martin Wolf, Jahrgang 1964, absolvierte an der Freien Universität Berlin ein Studium der Medienwissenschaften, Psychologie und promovierte im Fachbereich Soziologie. Dazu studierte er an der Pädagogischen Hochschule in Heidelberg Kunstgeschichte und Malerei.
Seine Neigung zum Realismus als Malstil entwickelte er in den 80er Jahren als Gasthörer bei Zeichenkursen an der Hochschule der Künste in Berlin. Dabei haben berühmte Vertreter des amerikanischen, niederländischen, französischen wie deutschen Realismus seine Sichtweise mitgeprägt. Mittels spezifischer Maltechniken gelingt es Martin Wolf, seinen Bildern eine eigene Note zu verleihen. Seinen Malstil bezeichnet er als „Atmosphärischen Realismus“.

Beruflich war er als Dozent an mehreren Fachhochschulen in Mannheim und Heidelberg sowie als Analyst bei einer Bank tätig. Seit 2011 ist Martin Wolf als Maler aktiv. Im Zeitalter der Globalisierung sucht er seine Motive sowohl in der Heimat als auch im europäischen wie außereuropäischen Ausland.

Stadtlandschaften / Stadtportraits

Das Themenfeld „Stadtlandschaften“  zeigt Ausschnitte des Konstrukts „Stadt“. Die „Industriearchitektur in Mannheim“ erscheint im Aquarell von 2015 als ein Gefüge aus Vertikalen und Horizontalen.

Industriearchitektur in Mannheim, 2015. Aquarell auf Papier, 65 x 50 cm. Foto: M. Wolf.

Der Betrachter sieht auf die Fassade eines Industriegebäudes, die mit Rohren und Metallgerüsten überzogen ist. Ein gleißendes Licht verursacht scharf definierte Schatten auf dem Betonplatz. Alles ist klar umrissen und vermittelt eine gewisse Ordnung im Sinne  von Kontrolle.
Die Stadt ist der vom Menschen gemachte Lebensraum, der hier fern aller Natürlichkeit erscheint. Die Industrie gewährleistet den Fortschritt des Menschen als Mängelwesen, der seine von Natur aus gegebenen Unzulänglichkeiten auf diese Weise ausgleicht.

Weitere Werke des Themenkomplexes „Stadtlandschaften“ wie „Die Hängebrücke in Ludwigshafen“   (2014),  „Mannheimer   Skyline“  (2012),  „Marseille“  (2017),  „Neckarauer Straße  in Mannheim“ (2014), „NYC Manhattan – Müllwagen bei Nacht“ (2012) sowie „Paris Boulogne, Passantin“ (2012) beschäftigen sich ebenfalls mit dem künstlich geschaffenen Lebensraum des Menschen. Stets ist die Stadt ein Konstrukt aus Linien und Flächen, ein Ort der Technik und Industrie und eine naturferne Umgebung, in der der Mensch oft einsam erscheint.
Die akribische Darstellungsweise Martin Wolfs und das inszenierte Licht unterstreichen die Künstlichkeit innerhalb dieser Werke. Es wird eine Leere und Einsamkeit vermittelt, die typisch für die in modernen Großstädten herrschende Anonymität ist.

An diese Isolation innerhalb großer Städte knüpft auch das Themenfeld „Stadtportraits“ an.  „Junge in Metro Paris“ (2012), „Pärchen in Metro Paris“ (2012), „Paris Boulogne – Häuserfassaden“  (2013), „Universitätscafé  Mannheim“  (2012) und  „Universitätsbibliothek Mannheim“  (2012) beschäftigen  sich ebenfalls mit  der Einsamkeit, die man innerhalb der Gemeinschaft empfinden kann.

Kultur und Technik

Die Aquarelle „Musée du Louvre –  La  Gioconda“  aus  dem  Jahr 2014 und „Griechenland – Delphi“ von 2017 greifen das Thema „Kultur und Technik“ auf und beschreiben die Diskrepanz, die sich daraus ergeben kann.

Musée du Louvre, La Gioconda, 2014. Aquarell auf Papier, 50 x 65 cm. Foto: M. Wolf.

Leonardo da Vincis „Mona Lisa“ lächelt unbeirrt von ihrem angestammten Platz im Musée du Louvre, während eine Menge von Besuchern sich vor dem berühmten  Gemälde  scharrt. Alle machen  Abbilder mit Handys und Tablets. Die Doppeldeutigkeit des Bildes als Abbild und Bildnis wird ins Zentrum gerückt. 
Was steht hier im Vordergrund? Das Bildnis der Ehefrau Francescos del Giocondo oder die Abbildung des weltweit bekannten Gemäldes?

Darüber hinaus wird der Begriff der Kultur hinterfragt. Sie steht als das vom Menschen Gestaltete der Natur gegenüber. Wie gehen wir mit Kultur um? Wie betrachten wir beispielsweise Kunst? Hier tritt die Technik an die Stelle der natürlichen Wahrnehmung und führt unsere Art der Rezeption ad absurdum. Die Menschenmenge steht der einzigartigen „Gioconda“ antithetisch gegenüber. Die Besonderheit des Portraits verdeutlicht das Bestreben des Menschen, sich darzustellen, abzubilden und für die Nachwelt zu erhalten.
Martin  Wolf hat  einen  kritischen Blick auf alltägliche Situationen.  Er hinterfragt sie und fächert sie in viele Schichten auf, sodass der Betrachter nicht umhin kommt, seine Umwelt und sich selbst zu hinterfragen.

Griechenland, Delphi, 2017. Aquarell auf Papier, 50 x 65 cm. Foto: M. Wolf.

Natur und Technik

Ein weiteres Werk aus dem Themenfeld  „Natur  und Technik“ ist die Darstellung des herbstlichen Waldes in der Pfalz von 2015. Über einen sich windenden Pfad wird  der  Betrachter in  den lichten Wald förmlich hineingesogen. Rechts und links vom Weg erstreckt sich ein verworrenes Netz aus Ästen und Baumstämmen. Der Betrachter wird mit einer unsichtbaren Grenze konfrontiert: Am Verkehrsschild   „Durchfahrt  für Motorräder  und Autos verboten“ betritt er als ein Wesen ohne motorisierte Hilfsmittel den natürlichen  Raum und ist auf sich gestellt. Das Schild droht zu kippen und in seiner Umgebung unterzugehen.

Herbstwald in der Pfalz, 2015. Aquarell auf Papier 50 x 65 cm. Foto: M. Wolf

Detailliert und akribisch genau, aber nicht photographisch getreu, scheint hier die Realität lebensecht dargestellt zu werden.  Die Bildwirklichkeit wird gefühlt und  gedanklich erarbeitet, bevor Martin Wolf sie auf dem Büttenpapier festhält. Damit ist sie nicht mit der tatsächlichen Wirklichkeit  gleichzusetzen. Die Atmosphäre spielt eine große Rolle und so wird die Komposition nicht zuletzt von der Lichtführung getragen. Dies schlägt sich in einer selektiven Farbwahl nieder, die aus zurückhaltenden Farbtönen besteht. Die Farbpalette bedient sich eines Kanons, der eigens für die jeweilige Stimmung zusammengestellt wird.

Weitere Werke des Themenkomplexes „Natur und Technik“ sind „Autoschrott in Südfrankreich“ (2014), „LKW auf Porquerolles“ (2014), „Rheinüberschwemmung in Mannheim“  (2015),  „Südfrankreich  –  Vernetzungen  I“  (2015)  sowie „Südfrankreich  – Vernetzungen II“ (2015).

Text: Anastasia Schmidt M.A.

LKW auf Porquerolles, 2014. Aquarell auf Papier, 50 x 65 cm. Foto: M. Wolf.
Autoschrott in Südfrankreich, 2014. Aquarell auf Papier, 50 x 65 cm. Foto: M. Wolf.

Ausstellungen

2019
Einzelausstellung Galerie Eva-Wolf-Schliesser, Mannheim

2017/2018
Einzelausstellung Praxis Dr. Ebensberger, Heidelberg

2017
Einzelausstellung Galerie Eva-Wolf-Schliesser, Mannheim

2014
Einzelausstellung Galerie Schillerstrasse, Heidelberg

2013
Einzelausstellung Galerie Schillerstrasse, Heidelberg